Advanced Search
Advanced Search

0 MAD to 9.000.000 MAD

we found 0 results
Your search results

Life in Morocco

Morocco is remarkably safe. Although the gap between rich and poor is similar to that of violent countries such as Colombia or Mexico, the crime rates of Morocco is much smaller. Safety in the streets is generally greater than in many European cities.

Respect for the established order
The low crime rates in such an unequal country are due to the fact that Morocco is still a very traditional society with great respect for the established order. The sense of community is widespread and even in larger cities people do care about what is going on around. This has its advantages and disadvantages (people do care, but people do also interfere in others’ lives), but the foreign visitor usually only gets the good side of this trade-off.

Foreigners
When out and about, foreigners will be treated most of the time in a very white-glover manner. Moroccans are very used to the foreigners and are very deferential and kind to them. Hospitality is a central value in Arab countries, and the visitor is supposed to deserve a better treatment than the local.

“Faux guides”
But these pleasant interactions have an exception: the “faux guides” (French phrase for “Fake guides”). These men prowl around the tourist areas and can be really persistent and rude when trying to become your guide for the day. However, some of these guides can be really helpful, especially in labyrinthine areas such as souks and medinas (read the tip below).

TIP

When approached by a guide (and sure you’ll be approached!) there are 2 good options:
1) Refuse politely but sharply from the first moment (and sharply, means sharply, no more talk than a “Thank you, sir, I want to be alone”, and probably you’ll need to repeat that sentence 2 or 3 times).
2) Accept to be guided on condition that a price is agreed beforehand and that you will be deciding which shops to enter and which not.

Theft
The only type of theft you should be really concern about is the petty kind. If you keep eye on your own pockets and bags its unlikely that you’ll have any problems.
Armed robbery is very infrequent. You must apply common sense precautions: avoid deserted streets and do not walk alone after 10 or 11 at night (12 or 1 in summer).

And what about women?
The only serious risk to women visiting Morocco is to receive an excess of masculine attention in the streets. Apart from this (that some may even find flattering), there is no specific risks involving women, on the understanding that women will also be avoiding deserted areas and late-night walks.

Regarding clothing, wear whatever you like (but wear something, I mean, don’t you think of going topless on the beach!). Joking apart, many foreingers think that since this is an Arab country, they will have to go around wearing a headscarf or something like that. This is unnecessary in Morocco. Actually half of the female population don’t wear one themselves. Indeed, Morocco is not Iran or Saudi Arabia.

Cost of living
Generally speaking, Morocco is a much cheaper place than Europe (a taxi ride costs about 1 euro, a coffee 60 cents, a private consultation with a specialist doctor no more than 20 euro…). However, some things that are seen as luxury items may sometimes be even a bit more expensive than in Europe (broadband internet, designer clothes…).

Staff

But what really sets Morocco apart in terms of costs of living is employees’ wages. A cleaning lady who also cooks will charge less than 10 euro per 8-hour workday. And the same goes for gardeners, guards, chauffeurs and any other domestic staff. Obviously, this allows to enjoy a lifestyle in Morocco that few people can still afford in Europe or America.

Plumers, builders & co
These types of contractors are also much cheaper, about 10-15 euro per workday. In exchange, don’t expect the same degree of thouroughness and attention to detail of Western contractors that are paid at least the same amount for a single hour. Often, foreigners are outraged at the lack of punctuality and professionalism of these workers, but they don’t stop a moment to think of how little these low wages help motivation. That is why it is a good idea to pay a little more than the average wage and have a happier more motivated contractor working at home.

Shopping list
In Morocco, there is a corner shop at every corner, no, really. These shops have a little of everything and will make do for most last-minute purchases. For more important purchases, it is better to go to traditional markets and supermarkets.

Markets (Souks)
Colorful food souks are one of the great attractions of Morocco, be sure to use them. Many have still a lot of natural, wholesome produce more in the line with the type found in Western organic farmer’s markets (and without organic prices).

Supermarkets
A few years ago supermarkets and hypermarkets arrived in Morocco to stay. Now there are at least a couple of them in every larger town, and inside Westerners will feel in familiar ground for a couple of hours. Although it is better to get the fresh produce from a traditional souk (best quality and prices), hypermarkets will be useful to find all that useful packed stuff that is also part of a consumer’s life.

Alcohol
You cannot find alcohol in every shop like you can in some European countries like Spain. There is a very few off-licenses per town. The other place where alcohol can be purchased is at the larger supermarkets (you may have to ask for the alcohol section because sometimes it is in a very discreet corner).

There are two religious festivities that will have an impact on your day to day life:

RAMADAN, the holy month

Ramadan is the religious event that affect everyday life the most.
It’s a sacred month during which Moroccans fast during the day hours and only can eat at night. Every evening, after having a first dinner at home, people take to the streets in masses to continue eating, drinking and smoking (the things forbidden during the day) in company. If the Moroccan street is normally lively, in Ramadan evenings the streets can be full of people up to 3 or 4 in the morning.

Don’t eat, don’t drink, don’t smoke (and don’t kiss!)
During the month of Ramadan, foreigners should not eat, drink or smoke in public. It makes sense as it would be perceived as rude to do so in front of people who cannot.

The kiss part is a bit of a joke but at the same time it is somehow pertinent. Indeed, kissing in public (in Ramadan of course, but also out of Ramadan) is still something of a taboo in Morocco. If you think about this is not a Muslim specific thing, before the 60’s sexual revolution, kissing in the middle of a British or American street was totally out of the question.


Alcohol in Ramadan?

Purchasing alcohol is also more difficult during Ramadan. For Moroccans is absolutely forbidden to buy alcohol during Ramadan (during both day and night) while for foreigners is just a matter of finding a place serving or selling alcohol that stays open. Usually large supermarkets and venues aimed at foreigners are more likely to keep selling alcohol during this month.

Ramadan keeps shifting
Another peculiarity is that Ramadan shifts a few days every year. For example, in 2011, Ramadan will take up all the month of August, in 2012, part of July and part of August, and so on and so on. It makes a complete tour of the calendar every 32.

Desert beaches
For the next 3 or 4 years, Ramadan will be taking up one of the summer months. When this happens, Moroccan beaches become a desert place because it is too hard to be in the sun withou eating and drinking. So, if you want to enjoy the tranquility of having long golden sand beaches (almost) only for you, take advantage of the holy month to come and visit the coasts of Tangier and Tetouan.

 

 

FEAST OF THE SHEEP

In Arabic “Aid el Kbir” (‘the big festivity’), this festivity keeps also shifting from year to year (it takes place 70 days after the end of the Ramadan). Although, it only last for a couple of days, it will be important to you because it stops the whole country for that time.
Sheep galore!
A few days before, you’ll start to come across sheep at unexpected places, maybe even in the hall of your apartment building. Then, the day of the festivity, every family will sacrifice their sheep (sometimes inside houses) and will celebrate a feast where that sheep will be eaten.

Shocking but peaceful
The day of the sacrifice the street scenes may be a bit hard for the faint-hearted: blood flowing down the gutters, groups of kids burning sheep heads in bonfires, strong smells, long knives… If someone were to arrive in the country on that very day without being told what was going on he would be most shocked indeed.

TIP

A couple of days before the festivity, make sure to do a big shopping of food and any other things that you will be needing at home for the next 2 to 3 days. Otherwise you’ll find yourself running out of food in the middle of the festivities when it is really difficult to find an open shop. Remember, everything both public and private is closed for at least 2 days.

Moroccan climate is very varied. You can find deserts, ski stations, temperate Mediterranean coasts and ever-green fertile valleys.

The Tangier-Tetouan region
The North of Morocco enjoys a very mild Mediterranean weather never too hot or cold. Although, sometimes it rains heavily, as soon as the cloudburst ends a magnificent sun shines again. The result is a scene of green meadows that reminds more of the Irish countryside than a North African country and which unlike the Celtic nation is bathed in sun for at least 300 days per year.

When to go
To fully enjoy the beach and be able to swim in lukewarm water, visit the region during the five months that go from May to September. If you fancy a fresher holiday come during any of the other months. Event the coldest months of December, January and February are not too cold and a light coat will be enough outdoors.

Hospitals and clinics
Public hospitals in the north of Morocco have poor standards of staff, equipment and hygiene. Fortunately for those having the means (as the foreign visitor who will find the fees affordable) there are private clinics with much higher standards. The best professionals, who often got their medical degree in Europe, work in these centers as the salaries in public hospitals are too low to attract them.

The best private clinics in Tetouan are:

Clinique du Croissant Rouge de Tetouan

Address: Avenue Hillal Al Ahmar (Avenue du Croissant Rouge)
Tel 1: 05 39 70 13 10
Tel 2: 05 39 70 13 11

Clinique Nakhil
Address: 74, avenue Hassan II
Tel 1: 05 39 96 26 00
Tel 2: 05 39 96 27 00

Clinique Rif

Address: 242, avenue des FAR
Tel 1: 05 39 99 91 42
Tel 2: 05 39 99 91 43

Clinique Tétouan
Address: Avenue Mohammed V (quartier scolaire)
Tel 1: 05 39 96 49 78
Tel 2: 05 39 96 42 52

The best private clinics in Tangier are:

Clinique du Val Fleuri
Address: Km 17, route de l’aéroport
Tel 1: 05 39 33 30 72
Tel 2: 05 39 93 32 93

Clinique Assalam
Address: 10 avenue de la Paix
Tel 1: 05 39 32 25 58
Tel 2: 06 61 29 30 35

Clinique du Croissant Rouge de Tanger
Address: 6, Rue Mansour Eddahbi
Tel: 039 94 25 17

Clinique Tingis

Address: Avenue Abou Bakr Arrazi
Tel 1: 05 39 94 69 90
Tel 2: 05 39 94 69 91

Private practices
There is certainly no shortage of general practitioners and specialists with their own private practice in Morocco. As with doctors working in private clinics, many of these practitioners were educated abroad and so it will be easier for them to communicate with your in your own language or at least in French. The service is usually excellent and much cheaper than in Europe’s private practices.

The consultation prices are usually 100-150 DH for a general practitioner and 150-200 for a specialist. Once you are established in the country, the best way to find a doctor is the word fo mouth, but in the meantime most of them are listed in the Moroccan yellow pages website (http://www.pj.ma/).

Water
There is a persistent myth among tourists visiting Morocco about tap water not being safe to drink. As a results, foreigners spend all their trip drinking bottled water when in reality tap water in Morocco is absolutely safe. The only exception would be to drink water from the tap of a house not connected to the public water supply system. Some very modest households not having the means to pay for water use the water from another source such as an underground spring that has no sanitation guarantees.

Vaccines
There are no compulsory vaccines that need to be given before entry in Morocco. However some optional vaccines that are recommended in certain cases are:
• hepatitis A and B
• typhoid
• diphtheria
• rabies
• tuberculosis

Pharmacies
There are pharmacies everywhere in Moroccan towns and villages and they have the most standard and important drugs that can be found in Western drugstores. However, if you need some drug that is a bit special it is a good idea to pack enough of it for your stay just in case.

Passport required, but no visa
To enter Morocco, only a valid passport is required for the citizens of most European countries, as well as for those from North America, Australia, New Zealand and Japan – no visa will be needed.
The visitor will be allowed to remain in the country for 3 months. After that time, you can get out of the country and come back for another 3-month consecutive period, and so on.

3 months
The visitor has permission to stay three months in the country. If after that period you want to stay in the country, you must go to one of the country’s borders and get out and back in again. You can do this even in the same day. After you’ve done that you’ll be allowed for another three-month period. You may repeat this as many times as you need.

Residence card
As long as you keep getting out and back in of the country every 3 months, you can spend as much time a year in the country as you like. However, this can get annoying if you actually live most of the year in Morocco. In that case it is a good idea to get a residence card (“carte de séjour”). To get this card you need to prove that you possess or rent a residence in the country and that you have the financial means to support yourself. In the particular case that you are working in Morocco or you have opened up a company in the country, getting a residence card is extremely easy.

Customs
A person visiting Morocco may enter the following items without paying any duty:
– 200 cigarrettes or 50 cigars
– 1 bottle of wine and 1 bottle of spirits
– 1 bottle of parfume
– 1 camera, 1 camcorder and a pair of binoculars
– 1 laptop and 1 cellphone
– 1 bicycle

Bringing your car for a few months
If you intend to use a foreign car in Morocco for less than 6 months per year, you may take advantage of the agreement for the temporal admission of vehicles. In this way, you won’t need to pay any taxes for using your car in Morocco.

TIP

The 6 months may be continuous or intermittent, but the total time cannot be greater than 6 months per year. Any excess time will be liable to a strong fine.

Bringing your car permanently
The taxes on permanent car imports make this option very expensive. In addition, you may take into account that a residence card will be necessary to obtain permission for this import.

Buying a new car
As with importing an used foreign car, the import of new foreign cars is very expensive. Therefore, it is often cheaper to buy it inside Morocco. On the other hand, in Morocco, there is a large market of second hand cars.

The currency
The national currency, the dirham (DH), is approximately equivalent (2011) to:
1€ = 11 DH
1 £ = 13 DH
1 $ = 8 DH

Exchange
There is no limit to the import of foreign currency into Morocco. Most banks and a the many exchange offices that are found in the commercial areas will be able to change your currency. Exchange rates are nearly the same everywhere.

The dirham is not convertible
Although informally it is possible to exchange dirhams into foreign currency, officially it is forbidden. For this reason, if you intend to open a Moroccan bank account and to transfer money from abroad into that account, you must open a convertible bank account.

Convertible bank accounts
This bank accounts allow you to take your money back to your home country. If you transfer foreign currency into a normal Moroccan bank account, the money you have transferred will not be allowed to get out of the country. But usually this is not a problem because by default Moroccan banks open convertible bank accounts for their foreign customers.

Cash machines
If you are just visiting the country, or if you reside but do not need a Moroccan bank account, then you will still be able to use Moroccan cash machines to get money (the most popular cards, such as Visa, Mastercard and American Express, may be used with any cash machine). The maximum amount of cash that can be obtained by this mean per card is 5000 DH.

Credit cards
Payment with credit cards in shops, restaurants and hotels is not as common in Morocco as in Western countries. It usually depends on the category of the place: any boutique, expensive restaurant or above-3 star hotel will surely accept your cards, whereas the less exclusive businesses are unlikely to accept them.

Compare Listings

Advanced Search
Advanced Search

0 MAD to 9.000.000 MAD

we found 0 results
Your search results

Vivre au Maroc

Le Maroc est un pays exceptionnellement sûr. Malgré une distribution de la rente semblable à celle de pays plutôt violents comme la Colombie ou le Mexique, le taux de délinquance au Maroc est bien plus faible. La sécurité dans la rue est généralement plus importante que dans beaucoup de villes européennes.

Respect de l’ordre établi
La faible délinquance malgré le fait d’être un pays avec tant d’inégalités est due au fait que la société est encore très traditionnelle. La surveillance des uns sur les autres afin « qu’un certain ordre des choses » soit respecté est central dans la société marocaine, et cela a ses avantages et ses inconvénients. L’un de ces avantages est la sécurité que l’on peut apprécier dans les rues (bien qu’elles puissent sembler chaotiques à première vue).

Les étrangers
Dans la rue, l’attention que reçoivent les étrangers est généralement fantastique. Les Marocains sont très habitués à la présence des Européens et font preuve de politesse et d’attention envers eux. L’hospitalité est une valeur essentielle pour les Marocains et le visiteur bénéficie toujours d’une meilleure attention que les habitués.

Faux guides
Le seul aspect qui assombrit ces agréables interactions avec les autochtones est le cas des fameux « faux guides ». Ces fouinards peuvent être terriblement lourds lorsqu’ils veulent nous guider même si nous n’en avons pas besoin. Cependant, il y a des guides qui peuvent être très utiles pour bien connaître les médinas (lisez le conseil ci-dessous).

CONSEIL
Face à un guide qui vous aborde dans la rue, vous avez 2 possibilités :
1) Refuser l’offre courtoisement, mais fermement dès le départ.
2) Accepter qu’il vous accompagne à condition d’accorder un prix clair dès le départ et de demander que la promenade ne comprenne pas des visites de magasins.

Vols
Le seul type de vol qui doit vous inquiéter est celui du pickpocket. Si vous faites attention à vos propres poches, vous n’aurez certainement aucun incident durant votre séjour.
Les vols avec violence sont très rares. Il faut simplement prendre des précautions de base de ne pas s’aventurer dans des zones peu fréquentées ni de marcher seul dans la rue à partir de 10 ou 11 heures le soir (minuit ou 1 heure en été).

Et qu’en est-il des femmes ?
Le seul danger significatif pour les femmes qui visitent le Maroc est de recevoir un peu trop de compliments. À part cela, il n’y a aucun danger spécifique supplémentaire, tant que, comme les hommes, elles ne s’aventurent pas dans des zones peu fréquentées.

Quant aux vêtements : portez ce que vous voulez (mais portez quelque chose : pas de topless bien entendu !). Plus sérieusement, il y a des touristes qui pensent qu’elles devront mettre un voile pour se promener au Maroc, mais cela n’est pas nécessaire, de fait la moitié des propres Marocaines décide de ne pas porter le voile. En effet, le Maroc est loin de ressembler à l’Iran ou à l’Arabie Saoudite.

Coût de la vie
En général, le Maroc est un lieu relativement moins cher que l’Europe (un trajet en taxi coûte un peu moins d’un euro, un café 60 centimes, une visite chez un spécialiste 20 euros…). Cependant, parfois étant considérés de luxe, certains produits peuvent coûter pareil ou plus cher qu’en Europe (connexion à internet, vêtements de marque, etc.).

Main d’œuvre

Mais c’est le faible prix de la main d’œuvre ce qui différencie le plus le pouvoir d’achat par rapport aux pays occidentaux. Une femme de ménage qui cuisine touche moins de 10 euros pour une journée de 8 heures. Il en est de même pour les jardiniers, gardiens, chauffeurs et toute sorte d’employés de maison. Cela permet d’avoir au Maroc une qualité de vie que peu de gens peuvent se payer en Europe ou aux États-Unis.

Plombiers, maçons et cie
Ce type d’employés est également bien moins cher, environ 10-15 euros par jour. En échange, n’attendez pas qu’ils soient aussi consciencieux pour faire leur travail que le professionnel européen qui gagne la même somme en une seule heure. Souvent, les étrangers se scandalisent du peu de ponctualité et du peu sérieux des ouvriers sans songer au fait qu’ils sont mal payés. C’est souvent une bonne idée de payer un peu plus de ce qui est habituel et avoir à la maison un travailleur content et avec de bien meilleures dispositions.

Achats
Au Maroc, il y a un « magasin de quartier » à chaque coin de rue. Ces magasins vendent un peu de tout et sont très utiles pour les oublis de dernière minute. Pour des achats plus importants, il vaut mieux de se rendre sur les marchés populaires ou dans les supermarchés.

Marchés
Les marchés colorés du Maroc constituent l’un de ses principaux attraits. Il est incontournable de les visiter pour acheter les produits les plus naturels, sains et savoureux sur la ligne des produits « écologiques » européens (mais sans les prix européens!).

Supermarchés
Les supermarchés et hypermarchés sont arrivés au Maroc il y a quelques années pour y rester. Ici, les Européens se sentiront en terrain connu et bien qu’il vaut mieux acheter de nombreux produits frais (viande, poissons, fruits) sur un marché populaire, ces endroits peuvent servir pour trouver des produits conditionnés en tout genre.

Alcool
Au Maroc, il n’est pas possible d’acheter de l’alcool comme dans n’importe quel magasin en France ou en Espagne. Il ya seulement quelques « magasins de spiritueux » dans chaque ville de taille moyenne (bien qu’il y en ait plus dans les villes comme Tanger ou Casablanca). En plus des magasins de spiritueux, dans les supermarchés, il est facilement possible d’acheter de l’alcool (et il se peut que vous ayez à demander où se trouve le rayon des boissons alcoolisées car il se trouve parfois dans un coin très discret).

Il y a deux fêtes qui auront des répercussions sur votre vie quotidienne lorsque vous vivrez au Maroc :

RAMADAN

Le Ramadan est la fête qui change le plus le cours de la vie quotidienne.
C’est un mois sacré durant lequel les Marocains musulmans jeûnent pendant la journée et mangent uniquement le soir. À chaque crépuscule, après un premier dîner à la maison, les gens sortent dans la rue à continuer de manger et boire et faire tout ce qu’ils ne peuvent pas faire pendant la journée. C’est l’époque où les rues sont le plus animées de l’année, avec du monde dans les rues jusqu’à 3 ou 4 heures du matin.

Ne mangez pas, ne buvez pas, ne fumez pas (et n’embrassez pas !)
Pendant le mois du Ramadan les étrangers ne doivent pas manger, boire ou fumer en public, car évidemment cela est considéré comme un manque de politesse de le faire devant les personnes pour lesquelles cela est interdit.

Le coup du baiser était un peu une plaisanterie, mais d’autre part, il faut quand même en tenir compte. Au Maroc, s’embrasser en public (pendant le Ramadan bien entendu, mais également en dehors du Ramadan) est encore tabou. De fait, si l’on y pense, ce n’est pas quelque chose spécifique aux musulmans, par exemple, encore dans les années 50, s’embrasser dans la rue en Europe était quelque chose d’osé.


Alcool pendant le Ramadan ?

Pour les Marocains la consommation d’alcool est strictement interdite pendant le Ramadan, que ce soit de jour ou de nuit, donc beaucoup de locaux qui vendent de l’alcool sont fermés pendant ce mois. Il existe cependant des endroits orientés vers le public étranger que vendent de l’alcool pendant ce mois, il s’agit de les trouver (grands supermarchés et hôtels et restaurants pour étrangers).

Le Ramadan bouge
Une autre particularité est que le Ramadan n’est pas fixe dans le calendrier. Par exemple en 2011 le ramadan occupera tout le mois d’août, en 2012 une partie de juillet et août, et ainsi de suite jusqu’à faire le tour complet du calendrier tous les 32 ans.

Plages désertes
Pendant les trois ou quatre prochanes années, le Ramadan aura lieu durant les mois d’été. Lorsque cela arrive, les plages sont presque désertes, car il est difficile de rester sous le soleil sans boire ni manger. Si vous souhaitez profiter de l’expérience de longues plages de sable blanc, où vous serez presque seul, profitez du mois du Ramadan pour vous reposer sur les côtes de Tétouan et Tanger.

 

 

FÊTE DU MOUTON

En arabe « Aid el Kebir » (la grande fête), cette fête change également selon le calendrier, car elle a lieu 70 jours après la fin du mois du Ramadan.
Bien qu’elle ne dure que deux jours, cette fête vous concernera, car elle paralyse entièrement le pays pendant ce temps.

Des moutons partout
Les jours précédents, vous commencerez à voir des moutons dans les endroits les plus inusuels, peut-être même au portail de votre immeuble. Ensuite, le jour de la fête, toutes les familles sacrifient leur animal (parfois dans les maisons) et font un repas de famille à base de sa viande.

Choquant mais pacifique
Durant le jour du sacrifice, les scènes de rue peuvent être un peu impressionnantes pour les esprits sensibles : du sang qui coule dans les caniveaux, des enfants en train de brûler des têtes de brebis sur bûchers, des odeurs fortes, des longs couteaux, etc. Bien que cela peut être choquant pour un touriste qui n’a pas été prévenu, tout cela est du plus pacifique (en ce qui concerne les humains bien évidemment).

CONSEIL
Achetez des provisions pour 3 ou 4 jours avant que la fête ne commence, car durant la fête du mouton et les deux jours qui suivent, tout sera fermé (que ce soit public ou privé).

Le climat marocain est très varié. On y trouve des déserts mais aussi dest stations de ski, en passant par des plages méditerranéennes tempérées et des zones vertes de campagne qui rappellent plus l’Irlande qu’un pays d’Afrique.

La région de Tanger-Tétouan
La région du Cap Nord jouit d’un climat principalement méditerranéen très doux où il ne fait jamais ni trop froid ni trop chaud. Bien qu’il pleuve parfois copieusement, quelques moments après le soleil réapparait, plus brillant que jamais. Le résultat est un paysage vert qui rappelle la campagne anglaise, mais qui contrairement à cette dernière, est inondé de soleil 300 jours par an.

Quand y aller
Pour profiter des plages et pouvoir nager sans avoir froid, visitez la région en juin, juillet, août et septembre. Si vous souhaitez passer des vacances plus fraîches, venez pendant le reste de l’année. Y compris pendant les mois les plus froids (décembre, janvier et février) un léger blouson vous suffira pour être à l’aise dans la rue.

Hôpitaux et cliniques
Les hôpitaux publics du nord du Maroc laissent beaucoup à désirer en termes d’équipements, personnel et hygiène. Mais il existe des cliniques privées avec des services de bien meilleure qualité, à des prix tout à fait accessibles pour le visiteur européen, avec les meilleurs médecins, souvent formés à l’étranger, qui abandonnent le public où la rémunération est trop faible pour les attirer.

Les 4 cliniques privées de Tétouan sont :

Clinique du Croissant Rouge de Tétouan

Adresse : Avenue Hillal Al Ahmar (Avenue du Croissant Rouge)
Tél. 1: 05 39 70 13 10
Tél. 2: 05 39 70 13 11

Clinique Nakhil
Adresse : 74, avenue Hassan II
Tél. 1: 05 39 96 26 00
Tél. 2: 05 39 96 27 00

Clinique Rif
Adresse : 242, avenue des FAR
Tél. 1: 05 39 99 91 42
Tél. 2: 05 39 99 91 43

Clinique Tétouan
Adresse : Avenue Mohammed V (quartier scolaire)
Tél. 1: 05 39 96 49 78
Tél. 2: 05 39 96 42 52

Las 4 cliniques privées de Tanger sont :

Clinique du Val Fleuri

Adresse : Km 17, route de l’aéroport
Tél. 1: 05 39 33 30 72
Tél. 2: 05 39 93 32 93

Clinique Assalam
Adresse : 10 avenue de la Paix
Tél. 1: 05 39 32 25 58
Tél. 2: 06 61 29 30 35

Clinique du Croissant Rouge de Tanger

Adresse : 6, Rue Mansour Eddahbi
Tél.: 039 94 25 17

Clinique Tingis
Adresse : Avenue Abou Bakr Arrazi
Tél. 1: 05 39 94 69 90
Tél. 2: 05 39 94 69 91

Cabinet médical privé
Au Maroc, il ne manque pas de médecins généraux ou spécialistes avec un cabinet privé. Tout comme les médecins qui travaillent dans les cliniques privées, bon nombre de ces professionnels se sont formés à l’étranger et auront souvent des facilités pour communiquer avec vous dans votre langue ou pourront au moins utiliser le français comme langue franque.

L’attention est généralement excellente et relativement moins chère qu’en Europe. Les prix varient entre 100 et 150 DH pour une consultation à un médecin de famille. Et de 150 à 200 DH pour un spécialiste. Vivant au Maroc, la meilleure façon de trouver un médecin est par recommandation de connaissances, mais presque tous peuvent être trouvés sur la version on-line des pages jaunes marocaines (http://www.pj.ma/).

Eau
Il existe un mythe parmi les visiteurs étrangers : boire de l’eau du robinet au Maroc est dangereux. Le résultat de cela est que le visiteur passe son séjour à boire de l’eau en bouteille alors que l’eau du robinet au Maroc est très sûre.

Vaccins
Il n’y a aucun vaccin obligatoire pour entrer au Maroc, mais il y a des vaccins optionnels qui peuvent être faits avant votre arrivée dans le pays :
• hépatites A et B
• fièvre typhoïde
• diphtérie
• rage
• tuberculose

Pharmacies
Il y a des pharmacies partout au Maroc. On y trouve la plupart des médicaments « importants » qui existent dans les pharmacies européennes. Cependant, si vous avez besoin d’un type de médicament plus particulier ou d’un produit de pharmacie de type cosmétique, mieux vaut en apporter suffisamment dans vos bagages au cas où il ne serait pas vendu.

Passeport oui, visa non
Les citoyens de la plupart des pays européens, d’Amérique du Nord, d’Australie, de Nouvelle-Zélande et du Japon n’ont pas besoin de visa pour aller au Maroc. Seul un passeport est nécessaire.

3 mois
Le visiteur peut rester dans le pays trois mois. Après ces trois mois, vous pouvez sortir du pays et entrer à nouveau (y compris le même jour) pour une autre période de trois mois, et ce, autant de fois que vous le désirez.

Carte de séjour
Si vous sortez et entrez tous les trois mois, vous pourrez passer au Maroc, tout le temps que vous souhaitez. Cependant, si vous passez la plupart de l’année au Maroc, cela peut terminer par être gênant. Dans ce cas, il peut être intéressant d’obtenir une carte de séjour.

Vous devez justifier que vous possédez ou louez une résidence dans le pays et que vous disposez des moyens suffisants pour subvenir à vos besoins économiquement. Dans le cas particulier où vous travaillez au Maroc ou si vous avez ouvert une entreprise dans le pays, obtenir la carte de séjour vous sera très facile.

Douanes
Une personne qui visite le Maroc peut entrer les produits suivants sans payer d’impôts :
– 200 cigarettes 50 cigares
– 1 bouteille de vin et 1 bouteille de spiritueux
– 1 flacon de parfum
– 1 appareil photo, 1 caméra vidéo et des jumelles
– 1 PC.
De nombreux autres produits sont soumis à des droits de douane, cependant, dans la pratique, si vous êtes discret, de nombreuses choses peuvent être introduites sans avoir à payer de taxes.

Amener sa voiture pour quelques mois
Si vous pensez utiliser une voiture étrangère au Maroc pendant moins de 6 mois par an, vous pouvez avoir recours à l’accord d’admission temporaire de véhicules. Ainsi, vous ne payerez aucun impôt d’importation pour utiliser votre voiture au Maroc.

CONSEIL

Les 6 mois peuvent être suivis ou cumulés, mais le total ne peut pas être supérieur à 6 mois par an. Pour tout excès au-delà des 6 mois vous vous exposerez à une forte amende.

Amener sa voiture de façon permanente
Les impôts sur l’importation permanente de voitures étrangères rendent cette option relativement chère. En outre, sachez que pour pouvoir importer une voiture de façon permanente, vous avez besoin d’une carte de séjour.

Acheter une nouvelle voiture
Les impôts sur l’importation de voitures achetées à l’étranger sont si élevés qu’il est souvent plus économique de les acheter à l’intérieur du Maroc. D’autre part, au Maroc, il y a un bon marché de voitures d’occasion.

La monnaie
La monnaie nationale, le dirham (DH), équivaut approximativement (2011) à :
1€ = 11 DH
1 £ = 13 DH
1 $ = 8 DH

Change
Il n’y a aucune limite à l’importation de devises étrangères au Maroc. La plupart des banques et de nombreuses agences de change dans les rues commerciales pourront changer vos devises. Les taux de change sont pratiquement les mêmes partout.

Mais le dirham n’est pas convertible
Bien que de façon informelle il est parfois possible de changer des dirhams en devises étrangères, officiellement cela est strictement interdit. Ainsi, si vous pensez ouvrir un compte au Maroc sur lequel virer de l’argent depuis vos comptes étrangers, vous avez intérêt à ouvrir un compte bancaire en dirhams convertibles pour pouvoir un jour rapatrier cet argent.

Comptes bancaires convertibles
Ces comptes bancaires permettent de revirer de l’argent dans votre pays d’origine. Si vous envoyez des devises étrangères sur un compte bancaire marocain non convertible, l’argent que vous avez viré ne pourra pas être à nouveau viré dans votre pays d’origine.
De toute façon, il est peu probable que vous ouvriez un compte bancaire non convertible, car par défaut c’est le type de compte que toutes les banques ouvrent pour les étrangers.

Guichets
Si vous êtes en visite, ou résident mais n’avez pas besoin d’un compte bancaire marocain, il peut vous suffire de tirer de l’argent des guichets automatiques qui servent le réseau de votre banque (les cartes les plus populaires comme Visa, Mastercard et American Express peuvent être utilisées dans presque tous les guichets). Le maximum d’argent que vous pourrez tirer par semaine depuis un guichet est de 5000 DH.

Payer avec la carte
Le paiement avec carte de crédit dans les commerces, restaurants et hôtels n’est pas aussi courant qu’en Europe ou aux États-Unis. Normalement, cela dépend de la catégorie du commerce : les boutiques d’un certain niveau, les bons restaurants et les hôtels de trois étoiles et plus accepteront certainement vos cartes. Le reste des établissements ne les acceptera certainement pas.

Compare Listings